Deziy, Rest In Peace Old Friend >>> The poem, "Polaris," we dedicate to him.

in #poetry7 years ago

Today, February 10, 2018, we say good-bye to Deziy Savage

Deziy graced our lives for fourteen years and brought joy to everyone who loved him. His passing will be especially hard for his best friend, Katie.  

“Deziy,” is short for “désolé,” which in French means, “sorry.” He was so named because after adopting him from the Humane Society, Katie, then a toddler, loved pulling on his overly large ears. And so, we built an apology into his name. Deziy, however, never seemed to mind. Over the years, I engaged in countless arguments with my daughter, insisting that his named ought be spelled, “Dezzy.’  

She would have none of it.   

Desiy was a master of relaxation. The effort he would expend to achieve maximum repose, was legend. In his younger years, he was, to be frank, a terror to lizards. His insistence with sharing his bounties generated additional moments of terror for us.  

We dedicate this poem, “Polaris,” to our old friend. For those who may not know, Polaris is the North Star.



Sort:  

I am so very sorry for your loss.

As a cat lover who was more or less dragged, kicking and screaming, to that point of mental enlightenment, I deeply sympathize with you and especially with Katie.

I also want to take this opportunity to share with you a compilation of scripture a friend of mine once put together. I hope that in reading how highly God values animals, you will find some comfort:

"What Does the Bible Say About Animals?"

I pray you will find peace, and eventually some other precious creature or creatures to enrich your family's life.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sorry for your loss my friend. It's never easy to lose a family member and your kitty seemed to be a wonderful cat.
I lost my companion to not long ago after 15 blessed years and he was my joy 😊
My thoughts are with you and I hope you remember all the good memories and he will never be forgotten. Hugs 🤗🐱

@saffisara,

Thank you for your kind words. When we adopted Deziy from the Humane Society, he was one of the older kittens and it was unlikely anyone else was going to want him (everybody wants the young ones). So, he probably would have been put down. Instead, he got fourteen years and a lifetime of love.

I posted a poem a few days ago,"Two Beats," with an accompanying discussion ... it takes on a whole new dimension today. Deziy may have passed away, but the concept of him, his essence, will live on so long as "we remember." Life after death.

Anytime my friend and that is a beautiful story, I know most people doesn't adopt older cats but they also deserve love and to live a happy life 😊 so wonderful of you to take him in and you gave him a second chance and happy years.
I will check that poem out and I wish you a wonderful evening and again sorry for your loss 🤗

Rest in peace, Deziy, and sorry for your family's loss, good sir.'

Your poem is beautiful, Polaris, the north star and a constant guiding presence in the history of humanity. A metaphor that can be applied to many true and trusted relationships, and, here, feels to speaks to the true relationship between family.

A pleasant rhythm and thyme in your four line stanza is a beautiful tribute to Deziy.

Thoughts go out to you and yours, @quillfire.

@carmalain,

Thanks. Go read my earlier post, "Two Beats." There's a discussion that seems apropos. My daughter wrote out the poem and put it in the casket in which we buried Deziy. I recited it during our little ceremony.

It is ironic: the first two poems I ever wrote were eulogies. Before that, I had no interest in writing poetry nor the belief that I possessed the ability.

I’m really sorry. looks like he is in peace now! I know how it feel to lose a friend, mine was ginger too! Hugs

@lamexicana,

The picture is several months old and depicts him snoozing. In it, he's fine.

We had to take him to the vet this morning. No pictures of that.

So sad... Sorry you lost a friend. I know how it feels and how you never get used to it. I think it's both a blessing and a curse that our pets live such short lives compared to us. I wish you strength...

Im very sorry for you and your daughter's loss. That is a very touching write up and poem.

We had to put my daughters dog down several months ago. My old German Shepard is very old and literally aging day by day now so it wont be too long. Not easy to deal with.

old-guy-photos,

Thanks Paul. This was not how I intended to spend the day.

I grew up on a farm. Horses, dogs, cats, chickens, turkeys, bees. Lots of life and lots of death. But there are a few that stand out.

The reality is that our pets have shorter life-spans than do humans. If we were to spare ourselves the pain of death, we would need to prevent them from experiencing the joys of life.

I'm sorry to also hear of your loss, and yet another impending departure. And so I also want to share this with you, my friend:

"What Does the Bible Say About Animals?"

I hope you may find some comfort therein...

@creatr,

Thanks for the link.

You're more than welcome.

Sorry to hear of Deziy’s passing. Pets are so much part of the family.

@redheadpei,

Thanks for the condolence. Times of passing remind us just how social we are as a species. We don't live alone, and we don't like to die alone either. Deziy died with all his family in the room. Be thankful for each day we have to spend together.

Breaks my heart. 💔 Wonderful way of honoring that bond that once shined brightly in your home.

@coquiunlimited,

It was my daughter's idea. Tributes are about elevation and she loved that cat with a fervor that cannot be explained. "This was Deziy. He was my friend ... and he shall not be forgotten."

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Grown cats have 30 teeth. Kittens have about 26 temporary teeth, which they lose when they are about 6 months old.

@catfacts,

Yours was the near-instant, and first, reply ... a bot I presume (or an asshole). And you wonder why people hate spam.

A cat’s eyesight is both better and worse than humans. It is better because cats can see in much dimmer light and they have a wider peripheral view. It’s worse because they don’t see color as well as humans do. Scientists believe grass appears red to cats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36