My Lucky Stars Incommunicado, a Poem About Wising Up and Getting Over It

in #poetry7 years ago

Unknown.jpeg

You ever fall face first and teacups over starry eyes for someone to find out he can take you, only to leave you. Yet your stubborn heart keeps grasping at straws until its shredded with paper cuts. Alright, my metaphors I mix much; so here is the poem, followed by the spoken word.

Faithfully I waited for the universe
The higher powers, whatever they may be
To open my true blues wide, wider still
To the heart’s masochistic idiocy

To show me my ardent passion for him
Was naught but willful, wishful contemplation
Serving biology on overkill
Be fruitful; avoid self-assassination

A tragically romantic spirit
From the highest height, I took the greatest leap
Jumped without looking, believing I’d soar
Alone … accomplished not even a wing beat

Now, I lay in a melancholic ooze
Realizing there’ll be no late-breaking portent
My lucky stars, incommunicado
Time to wise up and just take his word for it

It’s over

copyright Pryde Foltz 2014
Photo courtesy of the Creative Commons and found on Max Pixal

Sort:  

Wow I know what thats like! Well said

Thanks, Enlyten. Will be working my way over to my feed later today. I see you have a poem there. Looking forward to it:)

Do you need me to go beat him up? ;P

Beautifully written!

Yeah ... no. It's okay. You live life and find someone new you want to get beaten up ... lol. He did me a favor actually, the heartbreak was what fueled my poetry for a while there:) Thanks, Debra and Happy Thursday:)

fascinating
Do not be afraid to feel, even if it hurts
it is preferable to be fantasy
It is preferable

Thank you, Orlando. I have come along way since I first wrote this poem. I do my best to consciously set my feelings, to guide them toward happiness and contentment. It is probably why I am still single. LOL:)

it's not you, it's the world around us, every day it becomes more disfigured and therefore can not love, you do not change, you're sensational just like you are

Thank you, Orlando. In a way I agree but I don't see the world as disfigured. I think most people run on the 'programming' instilled by nature. They do the best they can. Some of us run, at least in part, with a desire for enlightenment. Both paths serve our move forward but sometimes they can run contrary and don't always attract one another. What do you think?

I like your opinion, and it is valid that everyone survives as best they can, and if they are very opposite paths, but our paths are similar ;-)

I think they are:)

Keep this attitude and add in a sprinkle of patience :) @prydefoltz

I do my best to consciously set my feelings, to guide them toward happiness and contentment

Thank you, Lonestar:) Patience insists on itself. Me thinks:)

Thank you, rasyidninrezi:)

Wonderful
I'm glad I dropped by to see the lovely piece
Big ups
Much love

Thank you, Chidera:)

His loss. Some guys are fools. Well done, Pryde.

Thanks Paul. Sometimes as they say rejection is the universe's way of keeping you safe and moving you forward. I added that last part:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83