Blue Girls and Sam, A Seussian Tale (Rhyming Verse in Honour of Dr, Seuss & Spoken Word)

in #poetry6 years ago

Blue Girls and Sam, a Seussian Tale

Sam Seuss was a penniless cook
At him, not a woman would look
He worked in a run-down dinette
Drove a moped, not a corvette

Until one afternoon
… under a morning moon

Into the joint walked quite the fox
With the longest flowing blond locks
While Sam deep-fried blooming courgette
Up to the counter, snuggled Smurfette

She said to Sam, slide me some ham
I may be blue, but I am true
Into my heart, dear Seuss, you will get
In trade for a green egg omelette

Not a fool will I be, said Sam
He fried her a sunny-side slam
He made it green with the zucchini
For desert there was white chocolate linguini

They left that derelict cooking shack
And not once, ever did Sam look back
They married under a spring myrtle
Their kids were a slight shade of purple

Poem Copyright Pryde Foltz

Sort:  

@prydefoltz, wonderful poem. I love when poets write in verse so I take every opportunity to support it. I hate to admit it, but your poem actually made me hungry and I ran off to the kitchen for a bowl of ice cream.

I'm a fellow Canuck (originally from Halifax but living in Florida ... will soon be moving to Montreal as my daughter will be attending McGill).

I'm new to Steemit as well (3 days) but I've already posted a few poems and there's a lot more to come. I have to admit to being a bit envious ... at $0.27 on this one poem alone, you're killing me. I have yet to break $0.20 for three. What's you're secret?

Anyway, again, great job and when I get a few minutes I'll scroll through some of your earlier posts. I'll leave you with a poem from my Intro Post, "Be Legend In Your Time" ... I wrote it to inspire Steemians in general, and poets in particular.

Be Legend In Your Time.jpg

I was very lucky and I had a more seasoned steemian introduce me to some people. But beyond that I would say put yourself out there and offer a lot of authentic and original comments. You can actually maintain bandwidth this way ... I am always checking the new poetry and haiku posts and commenting. What could be easier and more enjoyable? I must have given about a hundred comments by now. The algorithms must be set to reward bandwidth to those who leave longer and more varied comments. Not just ... nice post, follow and upvote me ... lol. I wouldn't bother with these types. Do you know about this site ...https://steemd.com/@quillfire ... there is a page for all of us. It will keep track of your voting power, so don't let it slip too low and your bandwidth. You will find with regular commenting that you bandwidth replenishes faster ... but the first few working hours in the morning are a little more hectic. Also take a look before you comment, if the individual in question responds to comments ... there are lot of people who don't, and so you don't want to waste your time, knocking on doors that don't get answered. Grow your feed and nurture it with comments, reesteems and votes when you can and you think its warranted. But I am told things are slow at first, and it is to be expected. Being that you are newbie, and I do this too, you may wish to focus more on curating. It will help grow a following too.

This https://steemworld.org/@prydefoltz has your bandwidth under "account details" as well and its a pretty slick tool :)

That little voting dial is awesome. Speaking of which I do have a question ... that little box above my posts about voting which give you the option to vote 50/50, 100 percent etc ... what does that mean and what should I be setting it at.

Keep doing what you do, and lets se if I cant give a bit of encouragement as well ;)

excellent, lots of creativity

Thank you, Omedina:)

Loved this one. I will gonna to resteem this. if you dont mind.

I would love that. Thank you, Papillon:)

Quite the production! I like it!

Thanks, BH. It was a lot of un to make:)

I love poems with rhymes... I try my best to also rhyme in my poems... Excellent piece

Thank you, xplore. I think some poems call for it. The humorous bent one the most:)

Congratulations @prydefoltz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Love this! 💗

Thank you, geke. So glad you enjoyed:)

Funky music. I like how you faded the volume in and out for each line/stanza. Thanks

Thank you, JP. That is courtesy of Imovie:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73