Become Elemental, Day 90 of the 100 Days of Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Become Elemental

fantasy-2820091_1280.jpg

the red dress has become a cracked bell jar
the vacuum seal on your psyche split

fraying ends and swaying swathes
crumble and become one with transient sands

there is no waiting
there is only decay

incidental transformation

will you free yourself of this vestment
abandon thread-bare hope and passions
or be ground down and join the desert tides

there is a blue beauty to the melancholy
you have his memory and your lunar emotions
you have the dunes of bitterness and longing
to shift between, to erode and sand-blast
what is left of your youth

still and listen
a finer earth calls to you
above it all is an oasis
only those that have abandoned cloaks
heavy and empty illusions
can transcend to

shed the red dress
cross the coarse abyss
let the wind nourish your limbs
dissolve desires to energetic balm
dissipate hurts to myth

the red dress is a hair-shirt
his memory a millstone
free yourself from the heavy thorns
of time and regret

bare yourself; become elemental

fantasy-2820091_1280 (1).jpg

Image Atrribution

Become Elemental is copyright Pryde Foltz

Link to contest page ...https://steemit.com/steemitschool/@d-pend/announcing-the-steemit-school-poetry-100-day-challenge
Join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/q9VEn5n

A Thank you to @d-pend for curating the challenge

Sort:  

This reminds me... I need to put away my winter clothes.

Just kidding^^

Really inspiring poem and depth in symbolism. I like it a lot and it is helpful to understand you. It is not just a let it go poem, but it is a transforming poem. This poem will be included in my weekly pick.

Thank you, Mineopoly:):):) I am honoured:)

beautiful poetry but I have to study to understand.

I think poetry is meant to be unraveled sometimes. As we seek understand and piece, we can learn to understand ourselves and humanity a little better. But yes ... it is a highly symbolic piece:)

Vast advice, become elemental. I enjoyed all of it, Pryde, and your unshackling words summoned Rumi for me:

Be melting snow. Wash yourself of yourself.

High praise, indeed. Thank you, Yahia:)

BTW ... you were mentioned in glowing terms today on the whaleshare curation show:)

Ah, many thanks, for letting me know! I, really, enjoyed my chat with them :)

This one is packed with poignancy and symbolism. The last line is especially meaningful to me, “Become elemental” is rather like the line from my poem, “Be the Rain” – We stand tall, our own strength and persistence. As the saying of every “nasty woman” goes… “Still, she persisted.”

Persist and evolve ... so they can't or wouldn't even dare to touch you:) Thanks, Denise:)

How exciting day 90.
Great piece, still going strong, well done.

Thank you, GBH. It feels so good. I think technically I have finished the challenge. Just posted poem 92 but what is 8 more:)

There is a blue beauty in melancholy
who has his memory and his lunar emotions

What a beautiful poem, Pryde! It's a nice wake-up call. It's like your smile :) Touch the soul to relieve it. I love these lines, their symbology is so deep and beautiful.

Thank you so much, Zeleira:) I am honoured:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04