Homeless (a poem, then afterthoughts)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago

Homeless

Lived in many places
Masked in many faces
Changed my glasses and hair more than the clothes I wear.
I don't know address, but just don't care.
Have no interest in living with that stress, and so if need be you can call me homeless.

Never had pets, but loves animals, gets along with children.
Doesn't think the world overpopulated, but too many kids without parents.
Too many bad parents, busy parents, tired parents. Never enough time.
Spent more time sitting at desks in school than getting shown by the one who brought me into this world about life and living.
Too much time in giving all attention to one of the delinquent parents in the American village: television. The after-school program which teaches morality and vacuity simultaneously.

If home is where the heart is and you are heartless then you are homeless.
A thousand homes in deed won't ever fulfill an absence of love, family, company.
If you are heartless you are homeless, the prospect leaves me helpless to overcome the state of Hopeless, Miami, Florida.
Glad to know ya but I couldn't stand ya for the first 18 years, painfully seated on the insides of my eyelids, but don't try to hide, kids, from the unflattering reality of simply having a bad attitude.
Later it's understood the problem was me, always. You see, humans succumb to overwhelming delusion, chronic confusion.

If home is where the heart is and you are heartless then you are homeless.



Upon reviewing it now for sharing in a writing, rather than presentation in a spoken form, I find the poem unfinished. Particularly I would add something after the phrase "chronic confusion" to better transition into the conclusive statement. It works pretty well live, the above recording notwithstanding. It's a bit late/early and I don't want to wake my roommate with a livelier recording, however if you show interest I will gladly re-record it for your pleasure.

Many thanks. Feel free to leave any feedback!
 

Sort:  

my name is njacog I am going to be posting some poems as well soon Please give mine a read.

of course, just let me know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50