FOR MY SON

in #poetry6 years ago

The jitters that comes when I think of parenthood is inexplicable. What with the hustle and bustle of this world of ours and the constant pull of technology, it has become extremely difficult to raise responsible children.
When I look around me, I see children unwittingly growing into adulthood without being properly groomed... Without understanding values that could make Them better persons in the society. Parents are too busy fending for their wards financially to teach them. The result is an increase in juvenile delinquents, young men and women without a care in the world for the feelings of those around them, and even when they manage to pull through their teenage years into adulthood, they have no clue as to how to make their children better (one cannot teach what he does not know, can he?) and then the cycle continues, getting worse each time.

Despite all these, children are beautiful... They radiate happiness and have a way of getting you annoyed in a pleasant manner... This poem titled "for my son" expresses my fears and resolve. Steemians, your upvotes and honest criticisms will be appreciated.

image
Image Source

FOR MY SON

I won't leave you a boxful of diamonds

Albeit I might dare to give you the world

For I have spent my days watching the ants

Throwing from shoulder to shoulder food cans

Perhaps I've also squandered my nights

Observing the monkeys dilly dallying on avocadoes

Running up and down with paper kites

I'm scared you won't find me here

For in search of peace I have set sail

Into the Atlantic where there is no fear of hail

Waves after waves of slimy silt balasting my face

Horizon cascaded in blue black shades

But son what can I tell you of peace

When you were probably conceived with a cacophony of questions?

I still think of you as possible

Even though I find the cloak ''dad'' too heavy to down most days

You deserve someone who wears the Monica like banner

But I promise you in like manner

I will give you a life

One helluva life without strife

And one helluva morning worth waking for

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73