A dirge to a beloved sister

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

The pain of your death finally stung me on a high note
It took the sweet song from my mouth
And I was silent, mourning inwardly
Licking the big wound in my heart

Why did your sparkling sun chose to set at just midday?
Why must you die before your time?
This questions directed although at you
Are not meant for you
The answers are beyond you
FB_IMG_15204380722520152.jpg[credit]
You were just a sweet little child
When you slipped between our fingers like fine dust
We shared your pain but couldn't
Cross the flowing water with you
When your heart finally gave out
Full of love and goodness towards others as it was
They couldn't save you
Maybe you were just too good a blessing
For this dark and evil word
We didn't deserve you

Beautiful you was laid 6-ft into the cold dark earth
Like you were just a log to be
Fed to the maleficient worms
We couldn't protect you from
That evil fellow
I couldn't stay with you in that lonely coffin

The veil of utter darkness that came with your death
Still rears head even at pleasant moments
Sipping a cup of wine or dancing

The reminiscent of your death
Would suddenly slip into my heart
And the wine will turn sour on my lips
My dancing feet paused
And my smiles will be lost

Will my joy ever be whole again?
Now that you're at the other side
When next shall I see your face?
That pretty face of yours
That was imprinted on my heart
Ever since I witnessed your birth
And carried you in my arms
With tenderness and delight
Rejoicing at such a fortune
That the creator has chosen
To blessed me with a sister

You were the goodness in my world
Ire Ire Ire- goodness
But who sent for you?
Who asked you back?
And denied me the chance to bade you bye
How heartless death was?
To have seized you

I cannot keep up with the words in my head
Or I go crazy
So I'll just let my tears do the rest
And go about distant places
Seeking not comfort but loneliness
Until death himself finds me
And I am united with you
At that other side

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44