If I Am A Superhero (A Poem About My Autistic Son)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

P_20170609_212818.jpg

My wife and I watched the movie "Wonder Woman". It was a great movie and very entertaining as well. It is good to have superheroes around, they can save the world and can escape from any type of situations. But in life, what we need are "real" superheroes and not "reel" superheroes. So if special kids and those with disability become superheroes, what type of super powers would they have?

If I Am A Superhero

If I am a superhero
Then autism is my super power
Looking at things from odd perspectives
Which ordinary folks like you never notice

If I am a superhero
Then my dad and mum
Will be my best side kicks
For only they believe in my super powers

If I am a superhero
Then my daily routine is what strengthens me
Therefore I fight any evil force
That disrupts my familiar world

If I am a superhero
Then my super sensitive senses
Will be able to detect
The slightest changes in my environment

If I am a superhero
Then I will be able to instill
Love, kindness and patience in others
Making this world a better place for all.

Cheers
Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment, resteem and follow me.

Sort:  

Great post ! Love superheros ! Upped !

Ah this is very sweet. My husband struggles with dyslexia, but he is also super intelligent. I always just say that it's just another way of looking at world, as well as a different way of learning.

I enjoyed this poem! I have followed you too 😊

thanks for your kind comment , followed back !

Thank you so much. Yea, superheroes are fun and special

you are so right ! And in so many ways ! 👍👍👍

Great poem. I wish you and your family all the best :) Good to have a superheero around ;)

Thank you so much for your kind words.

This is fantastic for many reasons!!

  1. I also write poetry, so I appreciate others' creativity
  2. I went to see Wonder Woman, and REALLY enjoyed it!!.. I was mesmerized by that heavenly placed she resided in
    but my biggest reason for liking this is that I work as a carer myself , & I truly believe your son is a gift from God. Like my last post, where I talk about soul interactions, When I am around children/the elderly who need that little bit more care, you can just feel their energy and it gives me such a wonderful feeling.

Thank you for sharing such a personal and beautiful post :)

Thank you for your support and encouragement. Yes Jonathan is indeed a gift from God. Do follow me for more positive posts.

You got it !!@ keep the positivity flowing, I will indeed and look forward to your future posts :

Beautiful and clever! He is a superhero, and you make a great sidekick^^

Resteemed!

Thank you so much for your support.

You're very welcome. I find this kind of inspiration a support for me too! So thanks to you and your family for being willing to share...

:)

That's why I called myself positivesteem, I like to write positive articles. Do follow me for more.

Been following for a while :)

Thank you for much for your support.

It was quite entertaining right?

Very touching poem! Thanks for sharing your work!

@positivesteem I'd believe in this superhero.

Yes i believed in this superhero as well.

Real Powerful!

Thank so much for your kind comment and your vote.

such a nice poem.

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53