Dear Bad Grammar, (Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

Dear Bad Grammar,

I've read through your articles,
your nouns, verbs, and particles.
You forgot a few commas.
It caused me reading traumas.

I've seen whole verbs omitted
in sentences submitted.
Questions without question marks-
irritate my "anger sparks".

I've seen sentences that run-
like their race is never done.
It's like ten trains together-
oblivious to whether...

... they needed a period.
Is their sentence on steroid?
Why is it strung out this way?
Will it go on 'til Doomsday?

Why does the sentence not stop?
To me, that looks like pig slop.
I know I'm a grammar queen...
But it lacks something unseen...

Please find a sentence workshop
to help it heal from this flop.
There's a concept called "edit".
It works miracles! Spread it!

For then, the world of grammar
would brighten up with glamour.
Bad Grammar, please, fix yourself.
I am not your "edit elf"...

I cannot always be there
to fix you when you don't care.
Maybe some grammar rehab-
at a college English Lab...

...could help you get back on track,
like a path of sweet lilac.
Quite frankly, it's distasteful
for my migraine-throbbing skull...

...to read such mistaken lines
that don't abide by guidelines.
So please, correct your English-
from the start to the finish.

**Author's Notes: This poem personifies bad grammar, as if it were a person. It is not aimed at any real individual, but is intended to address the trend of not caring about whether grammar is right or not. It's a reminder for people who know better grammar to use it. And for those who don't know much English, I know that language learning is a journey that takes time. This poem is not directed at you. It's for people who've known English all their lives, but don't write it as well and professionally as they could. To me, that's so annoying. So I poured out the irritation with my pen. You could say that this poem is my way to express some venting. Maybe you've read articles with bad grammar, and maybe it bothered you too...

Sort:  

I love your poem! I am definitely resteeming this.

Brilliant and witty! I love it ^_^

Thank you! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16