An Ode to my Yellow Fish: Lulu, the Lemon Cichlid, the Silly Fishbowl Redecorator

in #poetry7 years ago

You thought that was fun,

but look what you've done.

You carved out a hole

inside your fish bowl.

The gravel is stirred

just as you preferred.

You're proud of your mess-

that your scales caress.

I see you on guard

in the spot you marred.

You moved every stone

(by yourself alone)-

out from your safe cave

I so kindly gave.

Now two mountains sit!

You made them... Admit!

This mess is all yours...

Is this pebble wars?

It's not the bamboo

that sits there with you.

Nor was it bubbles

designing troubles-

as they hum all day,

for a good airway.

You cannot blame them

for all this mayhem.

Yet you hover here

like this spot is dear.

Although it seems strange

for fish to arrange

mountains and valley,

moved as with rally,

I do understand

why you worked the land.

You carefully comb-

it, for it's your home.

***Author's Notes: Lulu has re-arranged even more since I took this picture! Lulu moves fast, so getting a really clear picture of him/her guarding the spot is a challenge. Lol... This is a silly fish who constantly moves gravel around. I will hear little "clunk" sounds coming from the bowl, and I know that is Lulu! Cichlids commonly do this to mark their territory. They are interesting fish, but they are semi-aggressive. If you are considering getting this kind of fish, know that it is better to keep them separate from other kinds of fish. Still, I wrote this poem for fun. Enjoy!

Sort:  

I loved this. What a fun little poem. Good write. Upvote and resteemed.

Thank you. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94