An Impression (Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

An Impression

I woke one day quite early
when I was the age of ten.
So I rose up from my bed
and left the room just then.

I walked into the living room
where I saw a bit of light.
It gleamed bright from the kitchen
while the house was still as night.

I wondered who would be there
so early in the morning.
Then with tact, I peeked at Mom
as she sat there, reading.

I watched as my Mom read there,
then God whispered to my heart-
"Hey, you should read my Word, too!"
And I determined to start.

I went back to my bedroom
and opened up to Psalm One,
planned to read it daily, and-
that's where it all began.

I want to thank my Mother
for her example that day.
Her act made an impression-
that I carry on today.

*After thoughts: My Mom is an influence in my life. And through her actions, God spoke to my heart that day, and then, through His Word. I'll never forget it. My family has been a blessing. The Bible is also a blessing. It is God's love letter to us. Let's be thankful for family and for the love of God. :)

  • The picture I took is of my KJV Bible. It is open to Exodus 20, where the 10 commandments are. Verse 20 has God's conditional promise for those who will respect their parents. His promise is good. :)
Sort:  

lovely, yes your mother and father are the first to love you.. we must honour them and love them unconditionally. Not all will agree but it is asked of God so it must be followed... thanks for your post

It can be difficult as well but yes, honor and respect and love. Even if we don't like doing so.

well yes that is all part of the true test within ourselves.. to be as forgiving as children are as we get older is very hard

Thank you. And God will reward those who listen to Him. :)

Heartfelt. My wife and I read daily to set an example for our kids. The hope of Jesus is all we have.

Thank you. That's a wonderful example. Showing them the hope of Jesus is a rich way to spend family time. Just as I remember my family reading with me, I'm sure that your kids will remember, too, and they will take it to their hearts. :)

I love this! My parents took a vested interest in setting an example. I find it so hard to do what they did and bless my children. A challenge I gladly and boldly accept daily.

Thank you! May God help you in your daily challenge! :)

Nice to see something like this on Steemit 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55