You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ANIMALS - a daily series of poems with illustrations by @bennettitalia

in #poetry7 years ago

The ending is everything - everything! I like the comparison between the dog and little kids, kids who know no better, innocent. As they grow up, their expectation fades. I never owned a dog, but I would probably disagree with the 'content', dogs can learn to avoid pain. Maybe they are too forgiving, that even though they know you hurt them, they know that you also was kind and gave them love. It could be that is what dogheart is, not giving up on you even when they have seen your worst.

Sort:  

Thank you @poetrybyjeremy! I appreciate the thoughtful comments.

Yes, it's more metaphorical than actual... not meant to be an accurate description of the nature of canines, more using their (anthropomorphized) characteristics as a springboard.

I agree with your last sentence, except I might add: to a fault.

Following you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52