Mystical Moon

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

This poem is inspired by the above painting, Mystical Moon, by Christina Marie Wilmes. The use of this painting has been authorised by the artist herself.


Mystical Moon

Deserted by
everyone I knew.

On a wintry night,
I wallow in sorrow.

Nostalgic
of all those leaves
that abandoned me
to ride along the wind
like children on rollercoasters,
uninhibited by their fears.

She heard my sobbing,
banished the clouds
to let her light
shine on my undressed body.

In the morning, I resist
the harsh Winter chill -
          I want to see her again.


Christina Marie Wilmes, the artist of the painting above, has magnificent paintings for sale. 25% of her proceeds are donated to Project Buddy, which is a non-profit organisation aiming to prevent suicide and self-harm. Support her by going to her website and look at her paintings, photography and poetry on Peace Within Artwork.

P.S. I really enjoy talking to Christina and working with her, she is one of the most beautiful souls on this land!

Sort:  

Another fine poetic venture :) Those times of sorrow can be very cold indeed as we sit in deep reflection of what goodness has now passed from our lives.

I did not consciously connect the cold feeling with the sorrow, however, I see how they go hand in hand. I guess the painting did evoke the right emotions.

A natural flow of thought to feeling :) Paintings and visual art are great sparks for that I find :)

Nice words and also a nice piece of art from which you got inspired!
Keep writing and with time the rewards will come and remember that the best reward we get is the opportunity to improve ourselves.

Thank you! I already have been writing for some years. The best experiences have been connecting with both readers and other writers (mainly poets). As an experience, I value it a bit more than simply improving myself ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51