Locked Treasure (Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

Locked Treasure

I hold the key
against my chest,
its cold metal
against the warmth
of my anxious body.

Like an octopus
brooding her eggs,
I have waited months
for your embrace.

Travelled miles
along a scorching desert,
to be quenched
like a cactus
after Autumn rain.

In front of your door,
inhale a big breath
as I put the key
inside the hole.

Sweat slides
off my panicked face,
when the key fails
to turn the lock.

You reject
my phone calls,
deafened to my cries,

I should have known
your smooth words
were stupid lies.

My fists clenched
in anger, resentful
of my foolishness,

the key to a lock
that has been replaced,
remains buried
in my hands.



Image Source

This post was also published on Poetry by Jeremy

Sort:  

Awesome piece

Nice work @poetrybyjeremy
"I should have known
your smooth words
were stupid lies."
Beautiful rhyme and great diction "smooth words" Love it!

Thank you for the comment :D great start to my morning

You got a 7.74% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @poetrybyjeremy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56