In The Streets of Paris (Poetry inspired by Art)

in #poetry6 years ago


"Snow in Paris" by @peaceinartwork

In The Streets of Paris

In the black and grey streets
of a gloomy Paris,
my shadow lurks.

My heart - black like coal;
cold. Hope dwindles,
like luminescent lights
dulled out by darkness.

You drop out of the sky
like a meteorite -
my lucky star.

Blazing warmth;
cherry red lips
brush against mine;
reborn:
the flame within my heart.

The holiest of heavens
bless my lands.
Falling snow, dancing slow;
layers of white sheets
cover the once bleak streets.

In the black and grey and white streets
of an upbeat Paris,
your soul flares.


I want to thank @peaceinartwork for letting me use this image as an inspiration. If you liked the painting, you should check out more of her work on her page. She is one of the kindest and most talented persons I have ever come across. 50% of the proceeds from her sales go to the Buddy Project!


I invite all writers and poets to join the communities mentioned below; and remember to vote for great witnesses!

Join Die Hard Steemit and Isle of Write on Discord


Join the Steem Poets United on Discord


Sort:  

Cherry snow, dancing slow

Beautifully writ. I could picture that, though I have never seen the snow in real life. Lovely poetry @poetrybyjeremy

thank you! Actually, I have never seen snow either ;)

These are beautiful lines of poetry.
The words form a figurative relationship with the picture.

Nice write up @poetrybyjeremy
Nice painting @peaceinartwork

thank you @rexdickson
When I look for inspiration from the painting, I noticed so many details that I do not pay attention to when I first see it.

thank you so much! I love his last line especially! Beautifully composed @poetrybyjeremy

This post has received a 0.02 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

moving words, with strength and brightness, excellent

thank you for your constant support :)

Beautiful how the words relate so deeply to the painting. I love it @poetrybyjeremy !!!

I'm glad you love it! I tried to pay attention to so many details, especially the colour. There was only one vivid colour: red. The yellow was dulled out, it was not speaking as loudly, so I incorporated that into my own poem.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by poetrybyjeremy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I really enjoyed the mood progression of the poem. Your use of black, grey and ending with white. Beautiful job!

Thank you! Paintings do indeed speak a thousand words

My pleasure! Yes a picture does speak a thousand words.

I liked how you played the concepts of cold and gloomy against the firey red concepts of love. It made for an enjoyable contrast and an exciting read. Nice write!

Thank you! That is what I saw in the painting itself - taking away the couple leaves only gloom

You drop out of the sky, Like a meteorite, my lucky star
Oh i soo loved this.

A flaming red meteorite! You can say it's ... out of this world.

Thank you for the lovely comment :)

the contrast between the light and dark, both emotionally and figuratively in your words is a delightful tribute to the accompanying piece.

It was fun to see the relational aspects reflected in the passion of fire, both literally and metaphorically, and the disparate forlorness you carefully crafted for your shadows.

The presence of each greatly enhance the extremity of the other, as you no doubt realized and set out to achieve here, @poetrybyjeremy.

I always love a good polarized poem, and you certainly captured that well here. Awesome job as always, Jeremy, my friend.

Thank you! The contrast is very necessary for this poem; anything feels stronger if preceded by a lack of it.

I cannot take all the credit though. The painting was a great reference; the colours struck me immediately!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85