Ode Challenge: Hiking!

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

image
Outdoors
Hiking and I don't quite get along
I don't like early morning hikes or evening strolls through the woods
I am an inside type of person
Everything outside my walls wants me dead
Bees sting
Mosquitoes bite
And I just keep scratching.
Cedar trees stab me
I get a small allergic bump
I layer myself in sunscreen and bug spray, but neither seem to work.
The sun breaking through the trees on my afternoon hike turns my skin red and splotchy
The crisp, refreshing air is nice...
Until it isn't.
My body tries to suck in more oxygen than it can handle
I'm panting
Hiking isn't my thing
But I choose to do it anyways.

This poem is part of the competition by @japhofin8or and was written by me. This is my first time participating in this competition, and you all should participate too!
Photo from: newlifehikingspa.com (website wasn't working when I tried to source the image).

Sort:  

You have to use the @odechallenge tag. Fortunately I visited your blog and seen this work. You are in contention. Great ode! Thank you.

There we go! Sorry about that,

I like it. Resteemed

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71258.50
ETH 3842.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43