I Long for my Childhood//Poem by @umperfectpoet

in #poetry7 years ago

I long for my childhood.

I long for
the sound of joyful laughter
and
the playful screams
stilled by crashing waves.

I long
for my wild imagination
and creative ideas
that led to the building of plastic parachutes
and paper homes
for my stuffed friends.

I long for
tea parties with my sister
and water wars with my father.

I long for
the fearful wonder that I felt
when thunder roared
and lightning flashed in the dark
and my mother's comforting voice,
her soothing touch
as she put me to bed
and tucked me in.

I long for
the days of exploring
and climbing trees
and when scraped knees
and splinters
were my only pains.

I long for
the days of wanting to be older
and when growing up
was a very attractive alternative
to being
too young
too short
too childish
and too little.

I long for
my childhood.

This poem was written by @umperfectpoet
If you want your poetry featured on this account, just let me know! All original authors will receive 25% of anything made off of this post (50% of the SBD) as a thank you for allowing me to post their poem. Thank you all, have a good day!

Sort:  

Beautiful as always. Great job.

I really liked this piece! I will go check out @umperfectpoet now :-)

I'd be fine with you featuring any of my poetry on this account if you give me credit. Thanks for helping different poets get exposure on Steemit =D

No problem! I will check out your page and see what you got!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68846.60
ETH 3872.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66