I Buy Lies

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I buy lies
they hang in my closet
like ugly Christmas sweaters
unwanted gifts
from wanting mouths

I buy lies
each one came from you
you are many
not nameless
not faceless
just useless

I buy lies
sweatshop bought
never been taught
knit together words that you think I need to hear
true words never leave your lips I fear, you fear?

I buy lies
I lie..
I collect you so I know
colours that flow
sick against my skin
words purled therein

I buy lies
my skin is red and raw
rash upon rash
from the needles you left
in those ugly fucking sweaters

I buy lies
one day my closet will be filled
all the lies will be killed
and I will fill my closet with truth
pretty dresses
no more messes

till then
sell me your lies
I buy lies.

Art: Pierre Schmidt, A.K.A. DRØMSJEL
juxtapozdromsjel00-1.jpg

Sort:  

This is fantastic! I'm not even sure how to take it because it can be understood in so many ways, Great job!

Thank you @crystalize, even though I wrote it a while back, I remember why I wrote it but also end up relating to it from a different perspective.

I concur. Fantastico! More please.

Silent Ranter.... Love it! Thank you for the comment, there is more to come :)

Nice poem, I like it! - were you really buying lies though? the words suggest you can see through them . I think Poetry is such a great way to share and open the minds of others

@lordnigel, Thank you, really appreciate that. Yes, I believe I can see through them, some of them, I hear new ones often. There is a wonderful lesson to be learned in all of them. I hope the idea of the sweaters(lies) and dresses (truth) came across correctly. Confucious said, "There is beauty in everything" so I tried to convey that beauty of lies, and how they can be converted into something better.

Hm. Not is truer. Well said. Well written.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51