Inheritance

in #poetry6 years ago

From my father:
a sour stomach, a slight shyness, a broad nose
and a narrow sense of humor
a proclivity for vices
secrecy, solitude
a workhorse work ethic
and the gift of being the tallest person in the room

From my mother:
myopia, hysterics,
a lightning laugh, louder than the boom of thunder
generosity, rebellion, the unrelenting need
of caffeine and nicotine
Big in the hips, eyes, and lips
hair that breaks the teeth of combs
and takes hostages in its tendrils
And an anger you would never guess from quick hands
Hiding underneath velvet skin

Puzzle, Dna, Research, Genetic, Piece, 3D, Healthcare
photo via pixabay

Sort:  

I was looking for new poems to read, so I came across this particular one, even though it was posted a few days ago, but I still enjoyed this poem really, because of the images it carries.

It is brilliantly penned, and I love the way you deployed figures of speech in the poem, such as 'alliteration'. And your description is fantastic, and the picture it paints in the mind of the readers.

Keep it up!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55