ADDICTION (BOOK I) : The Addicted

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

This is a descriptive dramatic poetry that aims to spotlight the plight of young handsome guy named Desmond who had been addicted to series of habits in a while and seeks out for a solution from this menace.
Peter Iyamah

image

Like the birds boxed into their nest cocoon;
i was compulsively engaged into this strange me recently!
when all hands on desk;
some muttering, others whispering and fewer grumbling;
as the morning sparrows on their morning duties,
each wondering my new adaptive state.
inwardly, i have wonder my hard stilled new makeup
.

I turned my nostril,
into one newly established chummy,
elongated with an open end with much fumes emitted to the cloud,
probably to gratified my appetite;
what an "ADDICTION"
a pleasure with a pressure,
that gently ruined my future away form nature
what an addiction
within, my world of tradition
.

image

Sooner! the change, changed my entirety.
I became the shadow of myself embodied
into a rewarding stimuli,
dripping many reactions flowing in rivers,
causing stigma with sweetness to my bones but bitterness in my brain
.

Like an engaged locust on mission,
I was suddenly into an high-thrill cultural norm;
all a mystery to my fellows
whom appeared twice or double in my highness eyes at a time;
this time I discarded them in a zip zag method struggling to find my way out.
this was nothing other than
'the gambling game mix'
'the bed game in the dark with a fairly skinned'
the liquor I could called little competition
and 'the intake solid tablets mechanism'
became a new tenants
maybe contagious I could tell
.

image

The addiction I was addicted to birthed me into fresh blood bathe,
painting my light into dark
and turning my floating papers i've envisioned into aimless goals
I could see the inscription
written on the dark wall with a red blood ink dripping slowly: "addiction", "addiction" and "addiction"
invisibly, a small still voice I heard:
Desmond, you're not left alone, stop the new norm now or never!

©Peter Iyamah
#youngpoet

PeterPen_Writes



ALL IMAGES UESED IN THIS POETRY IS EXTRACTED FROM PIXABAY
Sort:  

Hmm! What is the best way to describe this intellectual property of yours? Well, it is just captivating! I guess i felt so captivated because i can relate to the theme. Yes! I have suffered addiction at a point in my life too. I was really addicted to water while growing up that it felt like there was a spirit behind excess water intake. In fact, i became "aquaholic" as a result. Yea! It did intoxicate at some point. Well, I am well over that now.
Great poetic work. But next time try not to be in a hurry.
Thanks for sharing bro.

Hello Ikedichi

Not only do I create content for the money, I try my possible best to ensure that my readers are impacted, influenced and convinced in one way or the other.
Addiction has become a norm for some people, to some they have been rooted deeply into some kind of habit or the other. Driven by inspiration, I have subjected the poem in a dramatic and descriptive way where I could freely express my thought .

Ikedichi, I am glad of your sincerity too. And most importantly you have been graced to overcome it. At some point in my life too, I was addicted to some kind of behavior growing up. As days glide by, I was graced by God to overcome.
That isn't the conclusion of the story, Desmond went through few processes before he became all he wanted to be. That I will unveil at (ADDICTION BOOK II). I

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

Beautiful write up. You're good with words. I'm so addicted to my phone.

Hello jeline
Thanks much my dear. You have been a source of inspiration you know. Thank you. And hope u have been able to surmount it (phone addiction)

Lol... I'm honoured. I'm trying my best, but not easy @ phone addiction

Wonderful poetry,keep it up.

Well well well...
This is a nail on the head.
And, oh boy.
I can't say how I feel reading this.
but, damn.
Classic! Different and....
Mind blowing

Hello @ttopswag
Thank you for coming through, for reading, commenting and upvoting

There are loads of juicy comments already. I feel betrayed. There isn't much I can say about this. It is just mind blowing and perfect.

Khojo thank You

What an addiction, my only addiction right now is steemit/my phone, your use of words are so captivating , we all get to hear that voice that trys to snap us out of those habits, but addictions, but additions are easily corrected than more than we see it we just nees the micro strategy which requires even less efforts you can check out mypost for more explanations.

Beautiful writeup

Hell PhunKe.
Your mentioned strategy called MICRO-CHANGE, is the best way to deal with whatever kind of addiction. Your contribution is appreciated

In the second line of the second verse, I think the word should be "chimney" not "chummy". Nicely written though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64