My Original Poems about Death / Losing a Loved One | What do you think?

in #poetry6 years ago

DEATH.jpg

This one is about spirit and is not dark:

I Need Not Keep Your Ashes (The Eulogy)
angel garden pic pic.jpg

I'll take your ashes and sit outside
You're so difficult not to miss
Will it help me feel you're here?
Why do ashes seem so meaningless?

I assume it's to feel you're around
kept in remembrance, to ease the woe
kept as a symbol of you
No

For these ashes are death's glitter
Dry, dull, lifeless, just shades of grey
As I sift my fingers through its depths
I realize this isn't you, there's just no way

You were and are so wonderful...
Ruminative, I disappear into this sight
Sun-illuminated, tubular flowers hang down
Like angels suspended in the bright light

The warm wind that gently brushes me
Coaxes the grass to bow unto the sand
Myriads of birds spread their sweet song
As I begin to understand

For this garden is life's cornucopia
Lush, bright, vibrant, with colours of all hue
As I let this all envelop me
I realise, this is you.

This one is about grief and is a bit heavy, in old English style:
She Left When the Grass was Wet

Spirit of the early hour
Struck the solace of the silence
Transforming her blood and flesh
Warm, tepid, cold.
I cannot reach through heavenly realms
An asymptote to life
She left when the grass was wet

Comforters offer doting words
Or Meals cooked with love
Stomach greets with groaning hunger
But a nauseous heart protests
My smile mirrors theirs - mechanical
Freeze frame - they are far away
She left when the grass was wet

Leaden heart lodged in oesophagus
Breath is fractured by the weighty load
Bereft of speech I stand
Solitary teardrop burns soft cheek
As Rain slides down the windowpane
In playful imitation, is it mocking me?
She left when the grass was wet

Should have. could have. Why.
Every Pensive midnight invites insanity
Dark imaginings flood the skull
Like venom through the veins they sting
Fighting not to dwell on them
For it does not quell the brain
She left when the grass was wet

Tick- tock resonates within eardrums
The clock coaxes gradual acceptance
“When your time is up it’s up”
The stoical response
They say she sings with angels now
And I hope so too
She left when the grass was wet

Sort:  

I like the first one more. You already published it in your presentation post, it isn't? ;)
The second one has an heavy rhythm, it's appropriate for mourning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66541.28
ETH 3559.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.05