You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MUCH LIKE WATER (formerly known as Who Is it?)

in #poetry6 years ago

I personally enjoyed the writing and I have to admit that setting apart 'good theft' and 'bad theft' particularly hit home for me even though it was intended as a side-note. :c)

As for the poem - I get the impression that there is a 'tad' bit of malign intent towards the 'you' in it. :c)

I'm currently wondering if this is actually meant to be sung.

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment, @pathforger!

The side note that you mention is in fact the reason why I chose to translate this one poem in particular. The 'good theft' can also be called 'research' when you're writing a paper, of course, with citations and all.

is there a malign intent toward the 'you' in the poem - I honestly cannot tell. After all, that is open to interpretation, and the reader brings their own world into the poem, and tries to make sense of it. As for me, the author, I may or may not have written and translated this with such intent.

And I honestly doubt that this is meant to be sung; I'll have to leave that to more capable hands and/or ears.

Be well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70153.57
ETH 3783.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72