Dreams Of Mine

in #poetry6 years ago

Dear dreams of mine,

images (5).jpg

You've proven as fickle as the changing seasons,
Why won’t you come true for me?
I want to fly across skies and police the oceans,
I want to leap over treetops and soar over fields,
To have the strength of warriors in my fist,
To discover uncharted islands and see if mermaids exist.

And yet here you are,
After all we've been through,
Making me sweat over homework with words I barely recognize,
And making my scary class teacher glare daggers at me.
Having my first day of college a walking disaster,
By making campus the size of Manchester.

Once in a while you smile on me,
Allowing me a lucid dream or two
One moment I'm floating free and weightless,
The next I'm brimming with awareness.

But I don't mind that,
I appreciate having you
You sneak up ideas on me,
The good, the bad and the crazy
And some of my greatest achievements,
Without you would have been impossible.

      Your partner in crime,
      Gbenga
Sort:  

Wow! Can't believe I actually found a poem I like on Steemit! This was really well written and had such cute vibes, I'll definitely follow you for your future updates!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52