Cripple Creek and Victor Gold

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I wrote this poem after a visit to the Gold mine outside of Victor, Colorado
I was extremely impacted by the land use taking place at this mine.
I reference Andrea Menard's Song Silent No More as it spoke to heart so deeply after being at the mine
I also talk of other issues that impact Indigenous people in North America
As we face the possibly of mining in The Sacred Black Hills

The Mountain crumbled before me
Barren,
Tears flowed
As water poured
Over heaps of former majestic Earth
For our Pleasure
Gold
Pillage
Rape of Sacred Land
I want to Stand
Silent No More
Violence against the Land
Against women
Against people
What Justice Does Greed Serve
May I Shake Free
From The Pain in my Heart
Burial Grounds
Forests
Sacred Water
Anestarel Prayers
Children’s Awe with the Force of The River
Sacred Water from the Spring
Fully Nurturing My Spirit
Snow Fall Silence
Friendship on a Mountaintop
From Camp White Clay Justice
On The Rez
Fighting Liquid Genocide
Heavy Rez Stories
Filling space
Boredom in the Mundane
Inspiration for He Sapa (Black Hills)
Return to the Sacred Movement
Remember The Water

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52