Once I loved and told it

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Once I loved and told it. with each fall of a leaf
The secrets of my heart opened, and I felt a brief relief
I pulled with one hand and push away with the other
I loved you and was scared to embrace another

Haunting desire for what could have been
Beep beep. This was it, now to see what lies therein
My eyes are bright. Oh, how bright they are, shining with the tears that have yet to fall in trickling lines
And from within I could hear the taunting chimes

The monolithic doors I opened for you to glance through, under the sheath
Is my heart, a glass figurine, perfect to the eye, fragile underneath
You betray my affections and leave my heart in shattered disarray of pieces of endless night
And now Never to sparkle in the midwinter light

It is now a shadow of what once was preserved
Fading a little more every day as they all observed
I knew that to love deeply meant to risk great pain
Your words left invisible scars on me brain

That can be traced with the gentlest of touch.
Pain sears through my abdomen better than a branding iron, my mind conceding to the torment, unable to bring a thought to completion, making me weak and unstable
As the thought of you swallows my sanity whole, laying on my couch

This pain is like a million tiny stabs, small, yet devastating.
I know in time it will pass and the sun will regain its warmth
But the joy from my heart is gone thenceforth
For you have stolen thyself away upon my waking

OJ

Image from Tiny Buddha

Sort:  

Thanks mate

nice poem of yours @osasuj

thank you:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44