The Rhyming Diary Challenge!

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

typewriter.jpg

Photo Credits

Dear Steemians,

I would like to present to you my rhyming diary challenge! Each day I will try to write down a verse about my day, a small observation, the highlight or low point of the day, or simply how horrible the weather is (German winter offers many opportunities in that regard). The result should be one long mind boggling poem, something to look back on even when I'm old, and an increased writing skill.

I am choosing rhymes not only because I like the sound, but because I think it is the most effective way to become a better writer and widen my linguistic horizon. Using rhymes and metric forces you to look for a better word, a different word, a new angle, etc., over and over and over.

Everyone is welcome to join this challenge, feel free to bend the rules as much as you want and don't feel obliged to write everyday, even a few lines to recap the week would be something great to look back on.

On a little side note, I'm using various search engines for rhymes and synonyms, which is incredibly helpful.

For rhymes, I usually try the clean ones first, then the “near rhymes”:

https://www.rhymezone.com/

And for synonyms:

http://www.thesaurus.com/

Sort:  

this sounds fantastic. I limit my number of posts each day, but will check back tomorrow!

#life
TB Joshua : Every day, God has something to say to you. Even when He seems to be quiet, God is still saying something.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01