Walking with you, I can walk forever

in #poetry6 years ago

12th May 2018. 12pm
I had walked through a dark tunnel for a while but I kept walking cos I was told that there was a light at the end of the tunnel. The cold didnt affect my resolve.

I met some people on the way at different times.
They promised that I was right and that they will help me find my way to the end of the tunnel where we will both see the light together.

We stumbled at unseen obstacles. And I was glad for a moment that I wasn't alone. Instead of waiting to be pulled up by my partner,
I did the pulling up.
A little time later I realized that I was doing most of the fighting and I got tired.

For one last fall, I refused to pull my partner up and I kept walking on my own.
Stumbling upon every barrier, I pulled my self up, Not stopping to rest.

Avoiding as many obstacles as possible, I kept pushing.

Then I saw a light, faint at first but as I got closer, I saw you.

Like the others, you promised that there was a light at the end of the tunnel.
'Why do you have this light with' you I asked,
'I have been waiting for someone bold enough to make it this far so we can walk together.
I know only half of the road, but I know anyone who makes it this far, knows the other half of the road.
So I made a fire and waited here. So that we could walk on together with some light and avoid most of the obstacles ahead until we get out of the tunnel into the light.'

And with a bright smile, you added
'I will also pull you up should you stumble and fall. And just incase you can't walk any further cos you need rest, I will carry you until you can stand on your feet again. You have been strong for too long, you can snooze on me and I will watch your back. I wont be missing in action. I promise'
I heaved a sign of relief at what I thought was too good to be true but I decided to go with you cos I was so exhausted and had no better offer.

Plus, your life is meant to be filled with all you love and want.

But then I thought, 'what about you?' you will need to rest as well.
You patted my shoulder and said, 'I will when the time comes, I hope I can trust you to be there when the time comes. But for now, let's focus on you'.
I managed a smile and said in my heart 'I will be there to watch you like a hawk and protect you. I will be here when your heart can't take anymore. I will be here when you cant help the tears and hold you tight in my embrace. I will cover you when you are most vulnerable. You dont have to be strong in front of me. I got your back and it's you and I against the world. I promise'
I will tell you this some day. I thought.

So far we have been going together. We haven't reached the end of the tunnel yet but I don't notice cos your light gives me all the faith and warmth I need.
Also, you have helped me light my own fire so we can see better and walk faster.
I don't know how it will end but for now I am content just knowing you are here.

Empress.
Inspired by FriendshipIMG_20180421_180436_342.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14