BEAUTY - /POEM/

in #poetry7 years ago

BEAUTY

When I typed that into google
The result was oh so brutal
To the self esteem of every teen
I ever seen
Scrolling through the images
That I had the privilege to see
Thousands upon hundreds of women in their young twenties
Flawless skin and shiny hair
What more about was their to care
When their eyes shined and were lined
Staring up at you from behind their mascara-d lashes calling you out as their slave
“you’re mine.”
They were thin with white teeth and light skin
They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder
but what if that beholder was me and I carried this weight on my shoulder
because I did the simple everyday task of googling it
and my expectations were surpassed with the volume of results that I received
the photos amassed as my brain perceived
pretty fast I saw what I was supposed to be
I saw the half-dressed women beckoning for me to be like them
Telling me all I needed in this life was for everyone else to be content
With the way that I looked and that was not the only thing that I booked
Every single picture was of a fair maiden
Excuse me I don’t mean to be so blatant
But what about the beauty that Allah created
Beauty, people, and places are all interrelated
I was quite shaken that there appeared not a single photo of nature
I could think of a million ways to define beautiful
And that I didn’t see a waterfall or a tree was a danger
Is this how we define beauty today?
Ok fine, let’s ask the dictionary, okay?
A combination of qualities
Which would make sense honestly
that pleases the intellect or moral sense, obviously
So is the face and body of a “perfect” woman all that our society considers pretty
I feel like a one person committee
And I’m not trying to be witty
It’s truly what I believe
That every person has their own way of being perceived
And beauty is about more that makeup and surgery
It’s about more than age; lets be the turn of the century
Let’s be the exemplary to the generation at our dispensary
Put together all the clues, it’s elementary
I’d put together a documentary if I had the time
But today for you and me I have this rhyme
Let’s make our world a better today and a better tomorrow
And always remember that the time you live on is borrowed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65