POEM BY RUMI : A CRY TO THE BELOVEDsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

These days, i am completely obsessed with Shamsi Tabrizi famously called RUMI (The Roman), born in September of 1207, AD. Here is one of his poem:

A CRY TO THE BELOVED
Yestereve I delivered to star tidings for the thee: “Present” I said, “my service to that moon-like form.”
I bowed, I said: “bear that service to the sun who maketh hard rocks gold by his burning.”
I bared my breast, I showed it the wounds: “Give news of me,” I said, “to the Beloved whose drink is blood.”
I rocked to and fro that the child, my heart, might become still;
A child sleeps when one sways the cradle.

vintage-2312547_960_720.jpg
Credited Picture: https://pixabay.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83