AlexandrasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago

Give me yourself and take me.
Bathe me in orange light that laughs and crackles in darkness,
spitting smoke into obsidian sky.
I'm sure my fate is to be burned alive.
Swallowed in flames that I might see inside your mind.

Lay bare my being and cast down my bones
that I could peer into your soul,
dying firelight in the distance,
shouting muted lamentation into frozen Eastern wind.
I'll plod toward it then, transfixed that I might just grasp it in a beautiful instant.

Grey eyes trace ghostly light upon the crests of mountains that frame the horizon I approach.
Your smoldering coals breathe smoke above black trees,
drawing me to you,
that I might warm my hands in your glow,

and imagine, for a moment, that you burned for me.

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this poem. Nice flow and imagery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39