No Rush in Life When There's No Rush to DeathsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

First poem I've completed in about four years. I'm a little rusty, but it's nice to have accomplished something in this category of art. I decided to branch out into more fiction... so I hope you like it.

No Rush

She grabbed my arm firm
And pulled me from the ledge
Her panicked breath faded with a sigh of relief
She saved my life
At least that's what she believed

Now I wasn't trying to end it all
Though that fall would be deadly to most
It was more of an experiment
Than a close call
I have this secret I've grown to resent
I cannot die
So that wasn't my intent
I'm a thrill seeker who fails at every attempt
I envy what others fear
That adrenaline rush when death touches near

So I stood up and apologized
Then darted to the edge
She gasped as I jumped
And just as I feared
No exhilaration
No excitement
No surge of any emotion

But as the wind blew through my hair
There was a peacefulness in the air
Should I reassess my plan?
Is it a gift that I possess?
My life is stress free
No anxiety about time winding down
No overbearing feeling of an incomplete bucket list
I'll always be around

And as my body impacted the street below
My thoughts turned toward mundane
I retract my falling ruminations that I can't attain
What good is serene if there's no pressure to survive?
No limits to constrain
To encourage goals to strive?

DSC_1434_nospots_w1000.jpg
Photo by @nighthawkdive

Sort:  

Very deep poem! I love how you both tell a story and dive deep and explore a number of various aspects of life; ver thought-provoking! I will look at your profile and read more! :)

I appreciate it. Thanks for the thoughtful comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68