Santa Cruz (James Rustic)

in #poetry6 years ago

I walked along the boardwalk, but did not enjoy the scenery of these bleak winter months.

I sat on the beach to watch the surf roll in, but was nearly driven to insanity by the endless bellow of the breaking waves.

I strolled through the downtown shops, but the smell of vagrants and peasants caused my pitiless stomach to churn.

I dined at a fine Italian restaurant in Capitola, but was too numb to appreciate any sort of exquisite tastes.

I wandered around the avenues and boulevards, overly engrossed by my own thoughts to appreciate the friendliness of the locals.

I traveled great distances in hopes of relieving my excessive mental baggage, but left with more souvenirs then I would possibly have room to carry.

I went to Santa Cruz to experience the warmth and tenderness of love, only to receive the cold reception accustomed to these bleak winter months.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56