Post Binge Illness

in #poetry8 years ago

cover

A Day of indulgence begets a day of pain.
Almost always is this the case.
Perhaps I am "easily addicted"
giving into acts of depravity.
I cannot know myself for sure,
and what is true I cannot say.

If only I listened to Zeno
and kept to the water and cheese.
Then I would be virtuous,
and finally the happiest me.

Background

Zeno of Citium founded the school of Stoicism. In addition to many other things, he observed that suffering was at its greatest after the high of bindging on something we love with attachment. He put this in terms of "virtues". To live a virtuous life is to live with the highest possible happiness. Anything that detracted this virtuous way of living, meant a net reduction in happiness.

@newandold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86