Martyr

in #poetry7 years ago

My heart aches with the pain of a thousand sins
Those of a child
Victim in the shape of old
Wise and blind
Always seeing, ever dormant
A struggle for youth
Brings disappointment and fear
Negligence and introspect
Found myself
Lost the rest
Demons of old
Festering new
Sanity or serenity?
A decision must be made
Breeds hunger from within
When dreams of reality
Are all that remains
Pain is of the earth
But torture to the soul
The heart a stepping stone
Relieve it
With what’s material
Feed it
With misdirection
I have forsaken my demons
And they have taken me
The guilt of a thousand blessings
Those of a martyr
Negligent of his role
Happiness from others
Hatred from within
Lay ruin to your foundation
Spread yourself thin
Blanket this earth
And relinquish your sin
Instrument
Host
Denial
Fulfillment with the end
Serenity for sanity
A trade I do for them
Scraps for the needy
Torn conscious from soul
Emotion and wisdom to the wind
Experience and vision made warning
Fulfillment

Disclaimer:
This poem is my own work and I kindly ask that you share it with due credit given. Enjoy and up-vote/resteem if you love it.

Best,
Christian

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56679.48
ETH 2377.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26