An Old Friend

in #poetry7 years ago

Hello darkness my old friend
Thank you for inviting me here again
For in you I can always confide
That which is darkest inside

I promise I won’t linger long
But surely, you’ll miss me when I’m gone
This relationship that we share
Cannot be found just anywhere

You fill and cover me
And you set me free
I show you things
That only you may see

With you I need not feel
Anything here can be real
Except what’s just outside
Of your corner where I hide

Oh, truly you must know
How it pains me to go
To leave you here
And embrace my fear

The fear of facing what is known
Knowing just how much I am alone
With nowhere to go and no place to hide
Until later when I can crawl back inside

Inside the recesses of my mind
Where only darkness you will find
Void of my sorrows
With endless tomorrows
And a friend to share
Someone to care

Disclaimer:
This poem is my own work and I kindly ask that you share it with due credit given. Enjoy and up-vote/resteem if you love it.

Best,
Christian

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56278.39
ETH 2377.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29