TWO GREAT LOVE POEMS translated by NEIL BOYD

in #poetry7 years ago

Claudian was the last great Latin poet. He died aged 34 in 404.

Vivunt in Venerem frondes

beautiful-wood.jpg

Leaves live only for love
and all through lofty groves
each happy tree is under love’s spell.
To pledge their union
palm bows to palm,
each poplar sighs to be in a poplar’s arms,
while plane woos plane and alder woos alder
whispering, whispering, whispering,
in one another’s ears.

A poem by Friedrich Rückert (1788-1866) was put to sublime music by Gustav Mahler (1860-1911). On YouTube choose your singer, male or female.

Liebst du um Schönheit

couple.jpg

If you love for beauty,
love not me but the sun with its golden hair.
If you love for youth,
love not me but the Springtime so young and fair.
If you love for wealth,
love not me but a mermaid with pearls to wear.
But if you love for love, love me, I thee implore,
love me as I love you, for evermore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51