POEM ON YOUTH AND AGE by Neil Boyd

in #poetry7 years ago

With a nod to the Book of Ecclesiastes.

agrotis-1.jpg

When I look in a glass this I see,
Years like a river rush past,

river in spate.jpg

My whole world wilting like grass.
If you ask me life's a farce,
All is vanity.

engagement-1718244_1920.jpg

I tell you youngsters what I see,
White blossom on an almond tree.

almond tree.jpg

Old grasshopper that limps along, that's me.
My body's weak, my nerves are raw,
I beg for just one hour more
Each time I hear a tap upon my door.

I've hairs on my head, well a few,
My mouth boasts a yellow tooth or two.
Okay, I'm old and you, damn you, are new.

O God, this chill inside my bones,
O Christ, my limbs are hard as stones.
Each step brings agony and gr-gr-groans.

Hark! Do you hear my wheezy breath?
I can't have all that many left.
Each day I look into the eyes of –
Snip, snip, O goodbye, silver thread,
Crash goes the golden lamp o'erhead.
Old friends of mine drop at life's well, all –

young couple.jpg

Soon, soon, you young guys too will break,
You’ll go to bye-byes and not wake.
The breath God gave you He is bound to take.

couple-on-holiday.jpg

So my advice is have a ball,
Enjoy yourselves, walk very tall,
Soon, Bang! He’ll mow you down against a wall.

When I look in a glass this I see,
Years like a river rush past,
My whole world wilting like grass.
If you ask me life's a farce,
All is vanity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52