love will stay near me [original poem]

in #poetry7 years ago

This is a submission for the Art Explosion 'Love' themed contest sponsored by @juliakponsford, written while I was courting my (now) wife of 19 years.

Your love will stay near me
Past time, laughter or tears,
Even after all the rivers we cross
They may yet course through our days
And our years.

Love is a song, light and limber
When the shadows fall long,
And the fire's a cinder,
When all the petals are gone,
And all the seasons are winter.

Love is the music, slow and mellow,
As the candle burns the wick
Our hearts always follow,
As the rain plays its magic,
And the wind's ceased its bellow.

Love is the jest, in the face of time we play,
A bright smile over strife,
Bringing humor to the days,
And peace to the night,
Solving all hardships with a single word you say.

Love is the word, thin and graceful
For when the voice dies there is still the message,
There in the heart after the lull,
When we tie ourselves to this, the last vestige,
Love is the memory yet we can hold.

Sort:  

OK, you've made me cry again with this poem. I remember when I first read it and we lived far away from each other. Now that it's been 19 years of marriage (almost 20!) this still is the sweetest thing I've heard.

I'll upvote that.

Beautiful words, flowing quite well, much enjoy.

Enjoy the love returned returned for love shared. <3

SAMMOSK! much thanks.

Just supporting the quality content creators out there. Keep up the good works. <3

Aww very beautiful and I can tell from the comments that this is something special for you guys! Thank you so much for entering it :)

Also as a side note has @morodiene ever sung your poetry before, that would be an awesome collab!

I did write a song cycle with his poetry, but it's not my best work - I was new to composing then. Maybe one of the songs is decent enough :)

@morodiene did put one of my poems to song some time ago, but it was one of my darker and more bleak writings, which doesn't suit the type of person she is. Maybe I can convince her to do one of my more uplifting poems. :) Thanks for reading and commenting!

I love the two perspectives here :D

This post received a 5% vote by @nettybot courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Wow! Just wow!

Beautifully said! I tell you between everyone in our family, we have a robust creative portfolio. Story writing, poetry, composing, singing, instrument playing, beer and coffee brewing, digital arts, painting...wow, I wonder what from the past ties all that together.

It's true. I think everyone has something creative inside them, but not everyone finds out what it is before they die. Our family got luck on that front.

THat's true. I believe since God is unarguably creative, we bear the mark of our creator and find a deep pleasure in creating. When I think about Mom growing up, I remember her with her past desire to design dresses and sketch, and then of course her writing. BUt in general, it didn't seem like we saw either of our parents creating all that much in the course of our childhood. I just wonder how it became such a focus for all of us, and not so buried as it is with some families.

That is a very good point. Nobody really went out of their way to make our childhood a 'creative' environment; we certainly didn't have all the toys and activities and learning games and groups that today's kids have at school and that most parents try to give to their kids. Hard to say where it came from, or what the source behind it really is.

A very touching poem indeed. Congrats on your 19 years of marriage. My wife and I just passed our 18 yr mark this month.

My thanks on your comments. It's odd to go back and post something from 20 years ago, back when you're young and idealistic, and still feel the power of those same words. Congrats on your 18 yr anniversary!

Thanks, my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40