Downer [original dark short poem]

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

image.png

Black clouds descend like a coven of hawks
Press downward, ever deeper my feet,
Ever steeper, the plunge into her heart.
Always lower, the landing that I seek.
Past nightmares and dreams,
Loud laughter and screams.
(poem preview only)

Photo by @negativer

Sort:  

This is so beautiful and sad, @negativer. But mostly beautiful. (Did I mention sad?)

I think that is indeed what I was going for :) Thanks!

I imagined a person standing next to a steep cliff, over looking the dark ocean. They jump off, the poem is their final thoughts as the rocks and waves claim their prize.

This gives me the sads.

Hm. That's dark.

I like it.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck

Thank you! Accepted!

sounds like some nasty divorce.

Ooo. Not the original intent, but certainly would work there too. Thanks for reading :)

Curious as to the original intent. I always feel like there's a layer I'm missing with poetry. Lots of angst on a Monday morning.

Ah, it was weekend angst, but it's from old salt. Poetry is pretty loose, and whatever the reader gets out of it is valid and legitimate.

In general, the vitriol is powered by my bad thoughts from high school days and those lonely, early years in the workforce where I'd be bitter about everyone and their happy lives and families and girlfriends and whatever, and I'd be bitter about what little I had to offer or could bring to a relationship except bad thoughts and darkness, and I had a fear that I would drag her down with me.

Old thoughts though, although I do still have nightmares about high school at times, even 25 years removed.

Very deep, dark and beautiful writing! Love it!

Thank you so much for reading!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by negativer 🥓 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45