"Inner/Outer Demons"

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


It's no longer a burden
But a burning desire
I found a purpose that inspires
Me in the truth I want to retire
I'm certain this passion
It won't expire
Cuz I see the time is finally now
To extinguish the demons' fire.

It's true the situation may seem a bit dire
But time is an illusion
The opposite promulgated by liars
So that you constantly fear death
To a mediocre existence is all you aspire
As you happily remain in your box
A docile consumer and buyer.

Instead of trusting yourself
It's their evil guidance they want you to require.
You see, divide and conquer is what they employ
Sold-out mind-controlled minions is who they hire
Ultimately, so that you never realize your true limitless potential
And are left spiritually dead and perpetually uninspired.

C'mon man, Isn't it pretty obvious why body-mind-spirit would only tire
When you are really only focusing on things outside of yourself to acquire?
Hopefully, I don't know, one day I'll be preaching to the choir.

But as I take a step back and re-evaluate decisions made prior
I no longer feel like I'm stuck in that mire.
No more fear
No more ass-kissing
No more calling you Sire.
I'm gonna figuratively rip you apart
Just like a piece of paper to a spire!

Of course, I'll still probably always be a bit of a cryer.
But that's ok cuz I finally want to sit with these emotions now
My mind and consciousness I know I'll soon rewire.
The time is now.
And at long last....

I'm ready for my heart and soul to soar higher.



    



Image Source: https://www.dreamstime.com/

Sort:  

Congratulations @nate-diggity! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nate-diggity! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57929.49
ETH 2354.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44