An ode to Jens Voight

in #poetry7 years ago

Jens - he puts in the laps, the repetition, the exercise with his mind and body, excepting this man’s body is hollowed. I will talk with him about this, perhaps we can ember up on the bike again soon...

This is my ode of Jens Voigt - beast, knows to drink hot coffee on hot days, knows that panache’ is cultural and contextual.

First poem - extemporaneous, howling, breakaway, early Jen’s. Second Poem - the teammate, the commentator, listen, this is his poem, if he thinks the revOlutions are slowing, that breakage is nigh, then he must apply the pressure, he must show that his spirit is true, he is riding tonight for no one but himself, I am supportive of his efforts and believe there is a real chance that he wins his fourth event. <i did not cull these from tv logs, this is Jens speaking in my head, any similarity to actual footage is coincidental and/or lost in the literary and literal fugue.>

Poem 1:
Watch out, he’s coming. Herr Voigt, Beschleunigung wieder.
Speed bitter and sweet, Touche’ peloton..
Lets play follow the leader. The pain is our friend our ally, our momentum is tremendous, unstoppable, our will is immoveable, together we ride to the finish again. I will sleep another time.

Poem 2:
Today is like no other. It feels like a Sunday ride for these humans. Everything is alles klar
Howling belly full again.
We are happy, nothing can interfere with the serenity of this day. We shall see, of course, at the end, there have been some abandonments, some withering of the spirit, some arrogance come due. The Dess-E-Cation of these riders’ will. It is like I am feeling it myself. I will be here to watch it and see how it all ends. We can be friends again tomorrow. Or perhaps, our friendship has never been stronger, I compete with you it is because of trust. There are many fortunes to be had, not only one. So today we Sealabrate.

End of Poem - Author Notes. Written with humility towards those that speak two languages. I am not mocking Jens english, this poem was inspired by the story Jens told on the 16’TDF broadcast about the time his training partner gave him a piece of chocolate as they took their duty guarding the fire. The simple gesture is common across all social circles that I have yet encountered. Its bond and incentive stronger than any other material or digital currency. Sharing food, processing carbon together. If you consider the chemical nature of things, it’s that nervous sweat (I don’t know what the hell I’m talking about, was I just rude to you?), that ridiculous endorphin rush (holy shit - this sex is going to happen, omg that car almost killed us!), those tears (all kinds! I cry cheering on the JV cross country team, unless I feel like the room needs it, I tend not to cry at funerals, as there have been times when I longed for that peace. What is to lament in the unknown? What makes me choke up is seeing people at their most vulnerable, vlunerability being the emotional equivalent of those straight up and down lines that define 'absolute value' of a number - if you don't have full openness to how you are feeling/seeing/experiencing - right now - then are are as likely to be holding off something beautiful as you are a 'bad' feeling. If my thoughts are Grandiose, why shouldn’t they also be decent? Grandiose Decency, the GD Party. - Please be kind to one another, start with yourself, instant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35