Eyes wide open, but still dreaming

in #poetry6 years ago

Wake up, they said
Welcome to the real world

Day by day
Blinded by hope
Blinded by youth
I see it, but not for what it is

I told you so, they said
Welcome to the real world

Where is the just
The fairness
The equality
I see it now, but it's too late

I try pushing through
But hope pulls my eyelids closed
My youth is gone
And still, I fight

I fight defeat
Because this cannot be
The real world I've always dreamed of
Is not what it seemed

Where Has the peace gone
What happened to love
Why is there no recognition

I've fallen into a hole
And I'm in too deep
Not a hand in sight
To pull me back out to the light

My eyes have been open
But for the first time I see

Welcome to the real world, I said
What I thought could not be
Simply is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54