Sweet Freedom - Scaredycatguide (Spoken Poetry Rendition)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

A few days ago I was scrolling through my feed and I came across an incredible poem by @clayboyn. It was so beautifully written that I thought to myself, this would be even more powerful if it was read aloud. Thus sparked the inspiration to attempt my first spoken word poetry.

sweetfreedom.png

As a huge fan of hip hop and R&B I thought I'd try doing my own version of spoken word poetry with instrumentals playing in the background. After posting it in the comments of the post, I got great feedback. Better than what I had expected. It sparked my creative juices, and I wanted to make another!

Steem-_Line-3.png

This beautiful poem, titled "SWEET FREEDOM" was written by @scaredycatguide and posted around 10 months ago. After discovering it, and reading it through I felt the urge to attempt again at another SWP, and with his permission I was able to let my creativity flow and create.

FREEDOM.png

Steem-_Line-3.png

I have close to zero experience making any type of music/spoken word poetry, so I have a lot more to learn. But please let me know what you think, I'd love to hear your feedback. Ff you have any suggestions for other poems you think I'd enjoy making a SPW rendition of, leave a link in the comments below!

page dividers made by @flauwy

Sort:  

Wow, that was crazy! :-) Honored you wanted to read my poem.

What is so cool about art, poetry, etc. is how it's interpreted by each individual. I have a flow that has always been in my head since I wrote it, then you had your own take on it that flowed very different.

I'm almost inspired to do spoken word now too...

That was cool! You have an open invitation to speak any of my poems.

That's quite the honor. Thank you very much! I really enjoyed the whole process of speaking it aloud with intent, it gives the words a lot more power. Like I said, I would love to hear your swp version, how it was intended to be read :)

that was terrific again @mrslauren, kudos to both you and @scaredycatguide - so many impressive talented people I come across on STEEMIT, just awesome! :)

I love the music you chose to accompany the spoken word. Well done! You have a new follower, by the way :)

Thanks for the support and the follow! :)

Stay free Sister. The Steemian way may help you remain that way!

That was awesome!

This post has received a 1.95 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @mrslauren.


This post got a 14.29 % upvote thanks to @mrslauren - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87