[My Poetry] We Laid TheresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

We Laid there


Skin to skin
nose to back
my arm around you
and your leg between mine

The sun came up and we laid there.
Neither of us spoke
...or peeked.

It seemed almost instinctive
how we laid there,
knowing the other was awake
without ever opening our eyes.

We were wise enough not to ruin it.

So, for awhile
we laid there.


So, I wrote this about the end of one of my relationships. Things had gotten pretty bad. We just had a huge fight that would inevitably break us up, yet we slept in the same bed that night, and in the morning...it was nice. Maybe that's because we hadn't spoken yet, but it was nice. So, we laid there. ( I know this is a little out of line for the typical gaming post you're used to me sharing, but this is also me, and I want to be personal.)
Sort:  

Cool, reminds me a bit of some of Richard Brautigan's poetry. His insights into the awkwardness of relationships was pretty amazing.

thanks so much! :)

I really like this poem. It is so honest and raw. I think writing about things that are very personal and very exposing makes the best poems and written pieces. So very well done on this one. Steem on man

Thank you! First poem I've shared here. I'll keep it up :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66687.09
ETH 3585.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.04