Basho and the Moonlight

in #poetry6 years ago

Bashu and the moonlight.png

tonight
I have no time to sleep
moon-viewing

Matsuo Basho

Commentary by Mondkind:

This drawing relates to a memory of sexual abuse that happened to me while I was a child. My parents decided to go away for the weekend. They left me in a friend of the family's care. I will call this friend of the family 'X.' I felt very nervous and nauseous about the prospect of spending the whole weekend at X’s household, as I anticipated more abuse happening. On the first day, X took me down into the basement to show me something that he had made. I was uninterested in this. He got very angry and clamped my hands to the work bench. He then proceeded to rape me. That evening he pulled me out of bed, where I was sleeping, sharing the bunkbed with my friend (X's daughter) and carried me downstairs into the basement. There, he slammed me to the floor and violently kicked me. He then raped me on the floor. Then, he held my throat and pinned me to the wall and raped me again there. I had been violently sick and there was faeces also in the room. X tied my hands together and left me there all night alone and with no clothes on. I also remember other types of abuse happening in the basement. One time, X and I were sexually abused there and then were forced to dress up in costumes and he forced us to participate in sexual acts. X filmed us while doing this.

Sort:  

Though beautiful, moonlight is far from safe, i feel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56