You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dead Poem's Society, Week Two, Contest and Community Building

in #poetry6 years ago

My humble submission is this historical poem, about Alexander the so-called “Great” – entitled Ra’qedyet. The post includes my spoken word delivery, from SoundCloud https://steemit.com/alexanderthegreat/@momzillanc/ra-qedyet

Sort:  

First off, you're a boss for being able to pronounce all of those names so fluidly! And yes, I always think about how stupid humans are. We fight, and burn the libraries/art of the conquered; we have to keep reinventing the wheel . And even though we now have volumes of examples of how "we" (the pupils of the history writers) didn't realize how advanced such and such a civilization was and are now just rediscovering evidence blah blah blah, we STILL talk about other cultures with the same disdain as ol' Alex had for Barbarians . Its ridiculously frustrating haha

I completely agree with your sentiments on this issue.

I remember this ... it is wonderful:)

Thanks, Pryde

I liked your poem, @momzillanc.

One can tell the speaker is against canonic historical knowledge, and this reiteration is ironic, for he/she knows the answer already:

Tell me about it…Tell me more…
Tell me… tell me… tell me, please

Historians have always been quite subjective and often have responded to interests of third parties and powerful rulers, to name some. What would it be like to be told the real history? I guess we can only write fictions about it and speculate (which is rather interesting if you ask me).

I guess that’s why they say “the winners write the history books.” But, the real history cannot ever be completely erased. The earth itself will – sooner or later – reveal forgotten truths. Eventually, in the face of all the mendacious “winners” try to obfuscate, “The truth will out.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69266.11
ETH 3871.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72