My Timorous Wings

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

A love poem for my husband, who has always given me space to spread my wings

Faltering in self-doubt, I fell
and forgot that I had wings
Without joy, I was earthbound
and could not see the sky
Then you came into my life
You raised my eyes once more
back to the forgotten sky
In your breaking through the storm smile
Embraced by the love in your ebony eyes
from your heart, reminded me I could fly
You dusted off my timorous wings
You gave me space to spread my wings
with whispered kisses on your breath
the wind beneath my wide wings spread
And, when my strength is not enough
with your strong arms enfolding me
You spread your own wide wings
That we might fly unfaltering in tandem

Hamid.jpg

Photo taken c. 2009, Poem © 11 June 2018, by D. Denise Dianaty
Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this very personal poem. You are very luck to live with someone who
Knows how to give space and empowerment.

Thank you. I know how fortunate I am in my husband. He’s the kindest, gentlest, most loving and devoted husband and father. I will never stop being grateful for the gift he has been to my life.

Awww. Words of love. ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57658.56
ETH 2273.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46