ATTENTION: 'Women's Day March'

in #poetry8 years ago

A huge women's day march is coming up this weekend in Washington D.C.! With that on my mind, I decided to post a poem that I wrote and cited for the Mrs. America-Ohio pageant in 1980. Those whom have read my initial Steemit introduction know the back-story. They read about the spontaneous events surrounding this poem, about the piano player playing 'America The Beautiful' in the back-ground, and about the Sargent of Arms in the Marines.

I feel that this poem still holds true today, as the American women have shown through out the years. Thousands of women will be marching in the Capitol on Saturday to have their voices heard. This is my small way of speaking with them, for them, and to them. My 'Tribute' poem reads as follows:

"MESSAGE FROM AMERICA"

Hello American Women! I am your Country
I'm proud to be part of you, and you part of me

You've supplied me with courage, offered me your best
Given me your all, and never less

Made me a flag, I've carried with pride
Given birth to soldiers, who protected me and died

Were Mothers to my Presidents, and supportive to me
Presented First Lady's with such dignity

Spoke true of my freedom, stood firm for my cause
Am I proud of you? I always was!

Surrounding me with beauty, inside and out
Giving me your love, but never your doubt

Showering me with children of laughter and hope
Ability to carry on, the strength to cope

American Women, stand tall and smile
Your refreshing new image is honoring me well!

Sort:  

I have a sneaking suspicion that the women in the upcoming march have a different view of America than the one you wrote so beautifully about in your poem.

Lol! You may be right about that. I hope that not all of them feel that way. I think that some may feel dis-respected, some want better healthcare, some just want equal pay. From what I've heard, their march includes a large agenda of topics to march for. I just hope that everything goes peacefully.

I agree with @richq11 about movements being usurped. I watched it happen with the 9/11 movement. the tea party, and occupy wallstreet.

So do I, but I've writing for years that every movement or institution inevitably gets usurped by it's worst element...I'm afraid that's what's happened to the Women's Movement. I got to spend some time with Camille Paglia some years back...she's what exemplifies the movement to me.

Congratulation

Today one year ago you joined SteemIt
Thank you, for making SteemIt great and Steem on for more years to come!

(You are being celebrated here)

THANK YOU!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66