"My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge" MY MOST MEMORABLE DAY IN 'STOETRY' VERSION.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I must say, I am not one to really carry events 'on my head' or in my heart as memorable.
However, a day has stood out in my life's sequel and I have decided its what I'll share. Don't mind me, I decided to get creative with the narration.

Here Goes My Stoetry...

My most memorable day,
Definitely has to be my dinner date.
Lol... You aren't expecting what you are about to read.
The dinner date I knew would happen my whole life,
But made no preparation for.
And I wasn't bothered, not until the last minute at least.
Weird right? I am sure anyone in my shoes would have done otherwise.
However, clumsy Mofe had to be herself and not prepare.

So there I was at the dinner table (Church).
A minute to midnight (when the dinner/cross-over night will happen),
The longest minute of the whole year.
All jittery, shy and clueless as though meeting my crush for the first time.
Hoping it wasn't a last super but a super to last a whole year at least.
I can't forget all the fears that gushed into my mind at the same time.
I tried to blame myself for not being ready.
I even told God to take my life if He was not going to be present.
Don't blame me too much...
All the years of my life had had a plan,
Whether they came to fruition is another matter.
It was either school, law school, nysc or something.
However, this year had absolutely nothing planned.
It was the first of its kind for me.

My Crush - '2018' could have at least given me a glimpse of what to expect.
But like the coy mistress, it successfully veiled itself,
Making me wait, thirst, hunger...
Revealing nothing, thereby increasing my "what if's?"
As I had no clue what to think of it or what to do with it.
I am pretty sure it enjoyed keeping me in suspense.
Fanning my tension till it blew up in flames.

Since the inevitable had to happen,
The clock stroke midnight and the great unveiling happened.
Alas!!! The wait was over.
I heard 'ding! dong!!', it was the Church bell
Followed by a loud congregational chant!
My chest. Thank God I made it.
What to do though.
It was 1st January, 2018 (dinner time)
Yeah, don't worry. It's only the year I had no clue what to do with that had come to dinner.
Dinner was served like the whole year before me.
Nothing on this platter have I eaten in my previous years.
Though scared, I was unreadily ready to dig in.
Determined to explore.

And that's exactly what I did.
Believe me, so far...
It's been the best year of my life.

Sort:  

Thank you for our entry @mofesmusisngs!

Thanks for the idea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42