A HEART IN NEED OF CONVINCING.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I have tried it all...I think.
I tried all I could to take away the hurt,
to not feel the pain
but nothing works.

They have lied to us.
Time heals all wounds, they say.
Time definitely hasn't succeeded with me
or maybe there is a prescription I am yet to know of.

At least Time did nothing.
Distance bragadaciously marched in and made it worse.
What to do though...
What to do?

I made a mistake, one I don't regret.
Painted you like an artist on all my facets.
Now everywhere I know has your face in it.
and all it takes is a little bit of you.

I took you all the way in... too soon.
To places I hadn't clearly understood myself.
Can't seem to find your way out and
sadly, I'm stuck there too.

How then do I convince my heart to become wild?
That your hurt isn't worth taming it.
How do I convince my heart to let you go?
That being without you is not a bad thing.

How do I teach my heart to carve you out?
That its healing would only result in a beautiful scar.
How do I make my heart see?
That time with you was great but we'll have greater ones without you.

How do I make it wash off the paint?
Since there are other awesome colours the world hasn't even discoverd.
How do I make it let go?
Since God's got us and He is enough!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46